Alberta Energy Regulator Board

Board member and hearing commissioner biographies (confirmed June 12, 2013)

Gerry Protti (chair) has more than 35 years’ experience in the energy industry, including 15 years as an executive officer of EnCana Corporation and one of its predecessor companies PanCanadian. Gerry’s corporate experience includes marketing, operations, new ventures and corporate relations. He was the founding president of the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers (CAPP) and was executive director of the Independent Petroleum Association of Canada. He has also served as chairman on a number of Boards including the Canadian Chamber of Commerce, Public Policy Forum and STARS Foundation.

Cameron Bailey began his consulting career in Calgary in the late 1980s. Having spent much of his career living and working in Asia and Russia, he has worked across a number of industries with a focus on serving energy clients on topics of strategy development, stakeholder relations, and post-merger integration. Cameron has served on the boards of the Calgary Homeless Foundation, the TELUS Spark Science Centre, and Westside King’s Church. 

Dr. David Chalack is a well-known rancher and well respected livestock breeder who has been active in the Holstein industry for over 30 years.  He is currently Chairman of the Board of the Alberta Livestock and Meat Agency and Chairman of the Ministerial Advisory Board for the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.  David has been President and Chairman of the Calgary Exhibition and Stampede and in 2011 was inducted into the Canadian Agricultural Hall of Fame. 

Elizabeth Dowdeswell is an international executive with a global network of relationships and a highly diverse experience in building consensus and managing change. She has eight honourary Ph.D’s and her public service career has spanned provincial, federal, and international borders, with roles such as Deputy Minister with Saskatchewan Culture and Youth, and Assistant Deputy Minister with Environment Canada, and as the Under-Secretary General of Environment to the United Nations.  Elizabeth was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2012.

Fred Estlin is a Consultant with Keith and Associates in Grande Prairie, and currently serves on the board of the Art Gallery of Grande Prairie. From 1983 to 2008, he served as an owner/manager/CFO in 16 small and medium sized businesses in the Grande Prairie area. 

Peter C. Flynn is a Corporate Director who most recently served as the Interim President and Chief Executive Officer of the Balancing Pool from 2011 to 2012. He has served in numerous corporate roles, including Colt Engineering Corporation, Edmonton Telephones and Nova Corporation.

Sheila O’Brien is a corporate director and business consultant specializing in workforce and leadership capacity. With over 30 years of experience in the oil and gas, pipeline, and petrochemical sectors in Canada, the United States, and Europe, she was invested in the Order of Canada in 1998. She has been widely recognized for her work in the areas of human resources, women’s issues, human rights, education, and health and welfare.

Andy Neigel is Principal with Boreal Management Group Ltd in Athabasca and has spent more than 30 years in the forestry industry. Andy has served on a number of boards, including the Athabasca University Board of Directors. He is presently the President and CEO of CAREERS: The Next Generation. He also sits on the Northern Alberta Development Council.

Full-time Hearing Commissioners

Bradley T.  McManus – Chief Hearing Commissioner
Brad McManus is the Acting Chair of the Energy Resources Conservation Board.  He was appointed as a member of the Board in January 2008 and as Vice-Chairman in July 2009.  His vast board experience includes time with the Alberta Energy and Utilities Board and the Public Utilities Board of Alberta (PUB), among other Board panels dealing with utility- and energy-related hearings.

Alex Bolton is a professional geoscientist with more than 25 years of diverse technical and management experience within the energy sector, government, and consulting.  He has served as a board member with the Energy Resources Conservation Board since 2010. 

Rob McManus is recognized as a senior energy industry leader with more than 25 years of regulatory, public consultation, Aboriginal engagement, and environmental management experience in Canada’s oil, gas, and electrical industries.  Rob holds a Masters of Environmental Design and a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology, and is trained in environmental mediation and negotiation. He has applied his skills as a board member with the Energy Resources Conservation Board, President of Fulcrum Strategic Consulting, and Commissioner with the British Columbia Oil and Gas Commission, among other roles.

Christine Macken has a strong record of public service, and is a mentor and leader in the field of alternate dispute resolution.  Christine is currently a member of the Environmental Appeal Board, and previously held a senior advisor position with the Energy and Utilities Board (now ERCB).  She also serves as a consultant with CM Project Management, providing project management and mediation/facilitation services to a variety of clients, including: the Alberta Water Council; Alberta Environment and Sustainable Resource Development; CASA; Calgary Mustard Seed Street Ministry; Alberta Arbitration and Mediation Society, and various Alberta airshed zones.

Barbara McNeil is an accomplished senior mediator, administrative tribunal member, and facilitator.  For over 20 years, she has been involved in mediating and facilitating regulatory, municipal, energy, workplace, stakeholder engagement, and land management issues. She has been selected as a mediator for Alberta Municipal Affairs, the Energy Resources Conservation Board, the Court of Queen’s Bench, and the Calgary Police. 
Return to the main Regulatory Enhancement page.