Organization Chart

Alberta Energy manages the development of provincially owned energy and mineral resources by industry and the assessment and collection of non-renewable resource revenues in the form of royalties, freehold mineral taxes, rentals and bonuses.

Alberta Energy promotes development of Alberta’s energy and mineral resources, recommends and implements energy and mineral related policy, grants rights for exploration and development to industry and establishes and administers fiscal regimes and royalty systems.

The Department's resource portfolio includes natural gas, conventional oil, oil sands, petrochemicals, electricity, coal and minerals, renewable energy (wind, bio-energy, solar, hydro, geothermal, etc.) and energy efficiency and conservation.

Coleen Volkexternal link icon is the Deputy Minister of Energy.

Department of Energy Executive organizational chart

Ministry travel and expense disclosureexternal link icon