2015 Royalty Review Advisory Panel

The 2015 Royalty Review panel was announced in June of 2015 along with a climate leadership planexternal link icon.   Both panels consulted with Albertans before providing advice to government.

Dave Mowat, the President & CEO of ATB Financial, was the chair of the panel.  Mr. Mowat was joined by Leona Hanson, Mayor of the Town of Beaverlodge, Peter Tertzakian, Chief Energy Economist & Managing Director, ARC Financial Corporation and Annette Trimbee, President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Winnipeg. More details about the panel members and consultation are available. Additional documents from the panel on the modernized Royalty Framework are on Open Governmentexternal link icon.

News releases

Modernized royalty system will promote jobs and investment activity, while increasing revenue to Albertans over time (January 29, 2016) 2016 Royalty Review report, Alberta at a Crossroadsexternal link icon 

Energy Diversification Advisory Committee namedexternal link icon
An expert committee assigned to help diversify Alberta’s energy sector will explore opportunities to create jobs and stimulate investment by adding value to the province’s energy resources.

Public consultation for inclusion in the report was closed on December 4, 2015.
Albertans invited to telephone town hall on royalties (October 13, 2015)
Albertans are invited to community engagement sessions on royalties (September 10, 2015)
Alberta's Royalty review is now underway (August 28, 2015) Panel mandate
Province names chair of the royalty review advisory panel (June 26, 2015)

Current royalties in Alberta